- Rationale

Introduction

"We expect our professors to criticize each other, to debate, to question authority...the actions themselves fall under the realm of educational employment in a university setting...the actions themselves, the actions of criticizing, debating, and questioning authority do serve a legitimate purpose...". [Zeke Wiedenfeld, Court Commissioner, Walworth County Circuit Court]

My name is Chris Henige. I have taught art history at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater since 2001.

The purpose of this site is to provide all of the documentation associated with my experiences at the university starting in 2012 and carrying through to the present day. I will be starting with the current and moving backward through time, and more materials will continue to appear on this site over time.

The documents, audio and commentary contained in this site are all a matter of public record.

- Complaint 2

Exhibit 9 - Dec 30, 2013 - Complaint

Memo informing me of the Chancellor's reciept of the complaint
Commentary:

The Chancellor states that "during this process, you have the following rights and protections..." At no time during this proceeding, or any that followed, where these "rights and protections" enforced in any meaningful way. These "rights and protections" have repeatedly violated, especially when those rights placed me at a disadvantage, or protected the administration or hearing panels from their own incompetence.

Exhibit 10 - Dec 13, 2013 - Complaint

Formal Complaint filed by McPhail
Commentary:

This is the full text of the complaint with its attachments. My rebuttal to this complaint can be found in the next document.

Exhibit 11 - Dec 13, 2013 - Complaint Annotated

Annotated Commentary on the Complaint
Commentary:

This document contains my annotations regarding the claims made in the complaint.

Exhibit 61 - Mar 17, 2014 - Investigator's Report

Investigator's Report with attachments
Commentary:

This is the original text without annotation.

Exhibit 62 - Mar 17, 2014 - Investigator's Report Annotated

Annotated version of the Investigator's Report
Commentary:

The annotations are limited to Bronson's own text. No comment is made relative to the attachments to the report.

Exhibit 63 - Mar 21, 2014 - Conflict Resolution

Emails related to the conflict resolution process
Commentary:

In the end, although I had agreed to sign off on the four points included page 12 of the pdf (a later email I sent reiterating those points), McPhail produced a final document that included only two of these points, (last page of the pdf) a new one requiring an apology, and another requiring my participation in a "Speed of Trust" workshop of some kind, partially at my expense. As remarkable is that only with the satisfaction of all of these terms will McPhail finally respond to my email to him of 12/19/2012, fifteen months after I sent it. His final term is equally troubling - a request for me to sign away any right to appeal disciplinary action. Why not simply re-initiate proceedings if I "stray"? At this point, when it became evident McPhail would not act in good faith, I terminated the conflict resolution process. Of course McPhail will later assign all blame for the failure of this process to me. During our informal discussions, McPhail confided to me that he was seeking another position elsewhere because "people won't just do what I tell them to".

Exhibit 14 - May 12, 2014 - Charge

Charge issued by Chancellor Telfer relative to Complaint 2
Commentary:

This is the text of the charge.

Exhibit 64 - May 12, 2014 - Charge Annotated

Annotated version of the Charge
Commentary:

My annotations speak for themselves.

Exhibit 19 - May 23, 2014 - Disposition

Response to Charge in Complaint 2
Commentary:

I denied the misconduct charged, but saw no reason to appeal a 3-day suspension.

- Contents

Background
2001-2012

As You Read
Things to consider...

The Long Summary
A 28-page document summarizing the events of the last several years

All My Communications
(Those attached to complaints)

Initial "Complaint"
Filed May 8, 2013

Second Complaint
Filed December 30, 2013

Third Complaints
Filed September 5 and 15, 2014

First Kangaroo Court
December 29, 2014 to June 12, 2015

Temporary Restraining Order
January 17, 2015

Fourth Complaint
Filed January 26, 2015

Second Kangaroo Court
October 2, 2015 to January 4, 2016

More to come in between...

Appeal to the Regents
Filed July 29, 2016

Sixth Complaint
Filed September 4, 2016

Seventh Complaint (Seeking Dismissal for Cause)
Filed February 21, 2017

Third Kangaroo Court (Seeking Dismissal for Cause)
February 21, 2017 to present

Dismissal Hearing Video
September 8, 2017

Hearing Aftermath
After September 8, 2017

Proceedings with the Regents
October 27, 2017 to present

Positions Taken by the UWW
From the beginning to the present

Exhibits
Exhibits relevant to the Hearings